FFN #18: We're Sending You a Virtual Hug and a Gift!

This week: Recovering from burnout, Crafting Routines, Taking Breaks, Looking after your Mental Health, Jobs & more!

2024 The Year of Prioritising Peace

The final six weeks of 2023 had me feeling burnt out and creatively zapped- not fun! This year, I am prioritizing maintaining consistency with my mental health practices, just as I do my workouts. This way, I can continue feeling mentally and physically my best for myself and my business. Let me share a few strategies to kick off the new year on a positive note and preserve a sense of peace, even during hectic work periods.

Your present circumstances don’t determine where you go; they merely determine where you’ll start.

-Nido Qubein

💖 Talk to Someone Who Isn’t Your Mom

Don’t get me wrong, I love venting to my friends or family when I’m coming up against challenges in my life, however, there is nothing more healing for your mental wellbeing than speaking with a therapist. Many of my friends tell me they can’t see a therapist due to the cost of the price of well… everything going up- I get it. However, Open Path Psychotherapy Collective provides a solution! They are a non-profit with a nationwide network of over 26,000 vetted mental health professionals dedicated to providing affordable mental health support both online and offline at only $40-$70 per session (they just introduced $30 student intern sessions as well!). Since 2013, Open Path has supported over 123,000 people with access to affordable mental health care. If you’re looking for some extra support this year check out Open Path to find a therapist near you. 

We live in a chronically overstimulated world and Yoga Nidra is one way to help manage the stress of life and allow our body to rest and mind to settle in the present. Open Path has gifted us a guided meditation practice for you to download. Yoga Nidra can help create a state of consciousness between waking and sleeping to promote a profound state of relaxation. Creating a state of deeper relaxation can be reparative to our nervous system, reduce stress levels, and improve our quality of sleep. 

In this practice, we move through a relaxing body scan, set our intentions, and deeply nourish our nervous system. #partner

🤝 Stay Connected

Something funny happens in the office. You interact with a group of regular faces you see each day, and you share the joys and headaches of working together. Although coworkers can get annoying at times, they’re people who are going through the same experiences as you. The challenge for freelancers is that we don’t have any coworkers. That means, most of the time, a lack of social interaction at work. No matter how introverted or extroverted someone is, that’s a bummer — and a quick way to become an unhappy burnt-out human. There’s a whole host of research showing the negative effects of social isolation, these range from poor sleep quality to increased risk of dementia. 

We’re all panicking now, so how can we fix this? Each week, I make an effort to have lunch with fellow self-employed folks or work contacts who are within easy commuting distance. When that can’t be done, I work from a coffee shop or co-working space. To pump up my social interaction and bring my inner child some joy, I’ve also decided to take up a few hobbies like ceramics class. Don’t underestimate the power of lunchtime chatter and idle industry talk — it makes a world of difference to your mood!

🏄🏼‍♀️ Create Great Routines

I am my best self when I’m in a routine. Crafting a morning routine that excites you and boosts your energy can significantly shape the course of your day. While working in your PJs sounds tempting, it’s worth putting in a little effort to get ready each morning as it helps to create the boundary between work and personal life. Pop on something comfy, like my favorite sets from Indigo Luna, and style your hair in a cute way that keeps it off your face. Incorporate some form of movement into your routine- whether it’s a stroll around your neighbourhood, a nature walk with your pup, or hitting the gym. For instance, our team member Sara loves surfing for thirty minutes at the end of the day. Finding a way to get out of your head and into your body is not only crucial for your physical well-being but also for your mental health.

☕️ Take Breaks!

No matter the nature of your self-employed work, it’s important to carve out time to rest before you burn out. Freelancing is fabulous for so many reasons, however, working for yourself is no walk in the park and most of us work more than our 9 to 5 friends. Work out when your slower stretches will be, and intentionally book mornings, afternoons or entire days off in advance. Work hard when you’re working on projects, and schedule relaxation time in between the crunch cycles. Set clear boundaries between your work and personal life. When you work remotely and for yourself, it becomes very easy to work all the time. To combat this, I like to set a schedule as I would work at a regular job, that way clients know when I’m working and I can set some boundaries with myself. Finally, set boundaries with Social Media. Sometimes I catch myself in a scroll hole and come out irritated and frustrated due to comparison. Take a digital detox and unfollow anyone who doesn’t bring you joy or triggers a negative reaction. Curate a feed that inspires you to be the best and encourages you to reach your goals- not one that depletes you!

Oura Ring

After listening to multiple podcasts on Diary of a CEO on the importance of sleep, I’m making it my goal this year to improve the quality of my sleep. I still love my Oura Ring for all my sleep-tracking needs. Its beautiful minimal design makes it my go-to over Apple or Fitbit.

Dreamy Moons

One of my fave mental health practises is writing what I am grateful for each day. It’s easy to get caught up in the negative, this practice switches my perspective to look for the good in my life. Recently, when I was scrolling I came across Dreamy Moons. Artist Annie creates each gorgeous journal, the designs are so unique and intentional. Dreamy Moons plant a tree with every order and each book comes in sustainable packaging - LOVE. Women in business are the best! Let’s all support more small women-owned brands this year.

Youtube Channel & Podcast Manager

The YouTube Channel & Podcast Manager is responsible for helping our content team develop a YouTube strategy, grow performance metrics, and oversee the production team. Remote, $26-35/hr

Social Media Lead

IDEO North America is in search for a Social Media Lead for a 3 month contract who will help drive engagement and growth across IDEO’s North American studios (San Fransisco, Chicago and Cambridge). Remote, $50-100/hr

Project Manager

Saatchi & Saatchi currently has an amazing freelance opportunity for a Project Manager in Synergize. The assignment will run until June 28, 2024. Remote

Freelance Book Marketer

Reedsy are seeking talented marketers to join our fast-growing community of top talent in publishing. Remote.

BAM

My latest obsession to add to my matcha is BAM buckwheat milk. Each serving of BAM boasts at least 4g+ of complete protein from gluten-free, certified organic buckwheat and never more than 2g of sugar in a cup. BAM is Organic, non-GMO, Kosher, and has a 100% clean label. Bam is on a mission to put more climate-smart crops into our favorite foods and beverages, supporting soil health, our health, and the environment and improving American agriculture. Oh, and did I mention they’re women-owned?! Chefs Kiss