FFN #40: Your Mental Health Toolkit đź’–

This week: Rest > Productivity, Our fave newsletter, Mental health toolkit, Jobs & More!

Rest > Productivity

There is that ongoing joke that most entrepreneurs would rather work 80 hours a week for themselves than 40 hours for someone else. As freelancers, most of us could probably resonate with that. However, this week we’re here to remind you that rest is important, crucial for our mental health and often leads to better ideas, work and productivity. This week we’re sharing our FF mental health toolkit, so you can protect your energy and give yourself space to rest.

âťť

The way to a more productive, more inspired, more joyful life is getting enough sleep, taking breaks, and recognizing the value of rest.

-Arianna Huffington  

🌻 Find Tools That Support You

One of the best things we’ve done for our mental health is create a solid morning routine filled with tools that support our well-being. I use Oura Rings to help track my sleep and cycle, that way I know as soon as I wake up how to manage my energy levels for the day. If I’ve had poor sleep or am in my menstrual phase, I know to pop all of my big tasks in the morning when my energy levels are usually higher, then pop easy ticks towards the end of the afternoon. My biggest tip is to avoid getting stuck in a scroll hole right when you wake up. I love to make the most of my morning with a touch of inspiration and a dash of expertise from The Newsette. Their free daily newsletter features everything from skincare secrets and style tips to wellness wisdom and breaking news breakdowns—topped off with an exclusive interview at the end of every send. Subscribe now and discover your new A.M. BFF - the perfect compliment to your slow mornings!

✨ Do an Energy Audit

Do an “energy audit”. Write out two columns: what fuels you, and what drains you. Actively manage and set boundaries around your schedule to make time for what fuels you. Is it self-care, exercise, time with friends or family, a new hobby, brainstorming, strategic planning, negotiating deals, or managing your people? What fuels you is what you do best. How can you outsource what eats up more effort, so that you can lead from your “zone of genius”? The more time you spend doing what gives you energy, the less burnt out you will feel.

 đźŚž Get Outside!    

To be successful in business we have to look after our health. I know how intertwined our mental well-being and gut health are. That’s why I prioritise healthy eating and incorporate lots of fruits, veggies, fermented foods and good pre and probiotics (our fave is Seed).

To help me de-stress and clear my mind, I love going for a walk outside in nature (almost) every day after lunch or I will do a Form Pilates workout outside in the sunshine. It’s such a refreshing break and it gives me a chance to push myself physically and release those feel-good endorphins.

Alongside all of this, it’s important to lean on like-minded communities like Freelancing Females. If you’re ever struggling or need advice lean on community. Remember, if you’re doing it tough there are fantastic resources like BetterHelp to lean on trained professionals.

JSHealth

On the topic of looking after ourselves, we love JSHealth to help support us. I love their stress and energy supplements to help power me through my work weeks. Once I started taking their magnesium I also felt a huge shift in my sleep quality which is amazing for work and my decision-making process.

🎥 Seven ways to protect your mental health

🤓 10 email marketing tips to help grow your biz!

đź’Ś Our fave morning newsletter to start the morning off right. 

đź‘€ Have you added to the World’s Longest Invoice? Our friends at Freelancers Union are asking freelancers to add their unpaid invoices, highlighting the widespread nature of non-payment and aiding their advocacy work.

Web Designer

Reedsy is looking for first-class web designers to work directly with book authors to build the site that’s just right for them. Remote. Freelance. Project-based rate.

Virtual Assistant

Avi Loren Fox is seeking a Virtual Assistant for their consulting and photography business. Freelance. Remote. $20- $25/hr.

Data Entry Clerk

Sylvan Learning is looking for a focused data entry clerk to continuously update their company's databases. Remote. Full-time. $36-$50/hr.

Packaging Designer

Creative Circle’s CPG client is seeking a Packaging Designer with a minimum of 3 years experience in CPG packaging design, to join their team for a full-time, 6 month contract. Remote. Freelance. $35-$38/hr.

Boom Chicka Pop

I have found the best popcorn! Boom Chicka Pop has the best ingredients and so many yummy flavours to choose from. The only problem is I tell myself I am just going to eat a few handfuls and the whole bag is gone, the addiction is real.