FFN #49: Maximize Your Coffee Shop Productivity Like This

This week: 50% discount on cute new pieces, Tips for Getting Things Done Outside Your Office, More discounts, Jobs & More!

Coffee Shop Productivity <3

Sometimes, I like to work outside of my house… radical I know! When I do decide to take the leap and switch up my workspace there are a few things I like to consider to make sure I still have a great workday and actually get the work done that I need to. As always, I thought why not share with my FF’s?

If people are doubting how far you can go, go so far that you can’t hear them anymore.

-Michele Ruiz  

👗 Look the Part

On the days I leave the house to work, have an event or an IRL work meeting, I like to feel cute with a new fit. However, buying new clothes all the time isn’t great for my wallet or the planet. Cue Armoire to the rescue! Their rental service gives members access to endless styles for a monthly fee, I love that shipping and cleaning are completely free. Plus, if you’re like me and the thought of picking fits makes your head spin, then they also have a styling service which is a life saviour and leaves me from trying on a billion things, getting frustrated and wasting time I could be working. For me, the key to being productive working out of home is to feel put together and comfy. So if you’re like me and don’t want to continuously drop $’s on new pieces, Armoire has kindly offered our FF’s up to 50% off your first month, plus free two bonus items. Use code ‘freelancing’ at checkout to redeem and take your style quiz. Can’t wait to see you all in your new fits!

👩🏽‍💻 Set Yourself Up for Success

I like to get a few of my personal to-do’s out of the way before I head out to work so I have less ‘tabs open’ in my brain. That means getting some movement in or chucking the washing on just so I know it’s done. A solid morning routine where I feel like I’ve had a moment for me, genuinely makes my work that much better. Then I’ll make a plan of the tasks I want to get done and split them into quick ticks (10-20 minute tasks) and non-negotiables, usually bigger tasks that might take an hour or so. For this, I love using the Productivity Method’s planners. Once I’ve got a plan I will pick a workspace I like, either a coworking spot or a cute cafe that welcomes remote workers.

☕️ While You’re There

Once you’ve arrived at your chosen spot. Find a place with minimal distractions that’s comfy and isn’t going to leave you with your back out. The key to being productive in places like cafes is having a great Lofi playlist on with a pair of good headphones - it blocks out all the fun convos you might accidentally start listening to. When I’m out and about I like to stick to a schedule to stay on track, so I will allocate time in my cal for my quick ticks and non-negotiables. And yes, I’m hearing how Type A I sound, but this is how to actually stay productive. I like to use the Pomodoro Technique to work in focused intervals, then I have time to daydream, take a walk or order more snacks without it slowing down my progress. Hot tip, when you’re working from a coffee shop, try to keep all your things to your table and support the business with more than just a single coffee if you’re sat there using their wifi for hours.

Urban Outfitters Home

 I know I’m probably late to the game here, but how cute is Urban Outfitters homewares? Their pieces are so fun and add a touch of whimsy to my home. Like a frog in a cowgirl hat - yes please? A sardine bath matt, didn’t know I needed it but I guess I do now. Obsessed is an understatement.

Toggl Track

 Time is money as a freelancer, there’s no doubt about that. When I first started freelancing I never used to use time-tracking software, until a friend insisted I try. Oh boy, was I wasting money and not charging properly! I started using Toggl so I could start accurately tracking projects and I’ve never looked back. Don’t sleep on time tracking FF’s it could help your cash flow. 

🐕 The best enrichment for your furry friend so you can actually work!

🚶🏽‍♀️ My latest obsession is taking my hot girl walks in nature 

🍵 I ditched coffee and instead drink Pique every day to support my skin, gut health, detoxify my body and give me calm sustained energy so I can get my client work done without the huge caffeine crash. Use this link to get up to 15% off and a free beaker and milk frother! #partner

✍🏼 Get inspired and make a difference! Join WriteGirl as a volunteer and help guide and inspire a teen writer. Help uplift the next generation of storytellers: Apply at here by Friday, August 30th!

Branding Designer

EMRE Consulting for a designer to brand a journalism podcast. This will include a logo, social templates, and Squarespace design. $26-$100/hr. Freelance. Remote.

Graphic Designer/Illustrator

Mamaleh Jewelry is looking to work with a talented graphic designer, beginning on a project basis, and hopefully transitioning into a monthly retainer. $15-25/hr. Freelance. Remote.

Product Designer

Proxify is looking for a Senior Product Designer for one of our clients. You are a perfect candidate if you are growth-oriented, you love what you do, and you enjoy working on new ideas to develop exciting products. Freelance. Remote.

Webflow Designer

EJam is seeking a dynamic Webflow Developer who understands the nuances of creating compelling websites for today's fast-paced digital landscape. Remote. €2,000 - €3,000 per month (based on experience).

Recess

I love a little bevvy while I work, but I don’t want to get jacked up on sugar. If you’re like me don’t sleep on Recess’s sparkling water. Infused with magnesium (a v. important vitamin for women) and adaptogens this drink is the perfect healthy alternative to soda and a lot less boring than water.